FOOD FINDINGS – OASIS HUMMUS

3 Mar

Hummus is a staple food for me and some may even call me hummus obsessed.  I thought I had tried them all . . . until last night when I found Oasis Classic Cuisine “ZERO FAT” Hummus at Basic Foods in Hoboken, NJ.  This hummus seems too good to be true – Kosher, gluten free, no sugar, no MSG, no additives, no preservatives, low sodium, low calories AND NO FAT!  It kind of makes you wonder what it’s made of.  Turns out it’s ALL NATURAL INGREDIENTS – chickpeas, water, lemon juice, fresh garlic and sea salt.  The website states that they even make their own tahini (the only Mediterranean food manufacturer in the US to do so).

Oasis Mediterranean Cuisine, a Toledo, Ohio based company, started out with 10 products in 1988 and has grown to produce 130 products.  So far, I’ve tried the Original Hummus, Black Bean Dip and Lentil Dip and they are ALL FAT FREE and ALL DELICIOUS!!!  You have to love guilt free eating!  Oasis says they will remain focused on sound and ethical business practices which is always important in our Ecology Cool quest.  To view a full list of products, nutritional breakdowns and to learn more about the company go to www.omcfood.com.  From what I can tell, they have egg salad, so the company is not 100% vegan, but most of the food is vegan friendly.

My grandmother always tells me I need to make my own hummus with the amount that I eat, but until I find the time, this is a scrumptious option.  I love that it’s healthy, natural, and made in the USA.  I am a huge fan!!

4 Responses to “FOOD FINDINGS – OASIS HUMMUS”

  1. cattychat March 9, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Great blog, Michal! I will be your loyal follower. I, too, am hummus obsessed, and have been on a quest to find the perfect hummus. Until now, Tribe 40 Spices hummus held the title. I’m going to see if this Oasis stuff is sold in California. I have started making my own (if you have a food processor, it’s truly a 30 second chore) and after a little experimentation have found that I don’t like a lot of tahini in my hummus. Most grocery store brands mask the taste of the garbanzo beans with a heavy handed dose of tahini. The dill hummus is still my favorite! :) (Lots of dill, lots of lemon juice.) Keep up the good work, Michal!

  2. Kristin March 10, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    I love that you not only promote organic food but ones that can help a person with their diet to lose weight!!

  3. kaetra December 13, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    I am so sad. My local Jewel had Oasis Hummus for a very short time. I saw it was lower calorie and bought some. LOVED it SO much I went back and bought EVERY single container they had. But, they aren’t getting anymore in and NOWHERE I can find has it – not even Whole Foods. It’s the BEST tasting Hummus I’ve ever found anywhere. Nothiing even compares to the creamy, perfectly balanced flavor of the Oasis Original.

    I feel like I was turned on to some crazy Crack Hummus and now I want more more more more. I can’t even order it online anywhere. Every other hummus I eat tastes like a gritty, watery mess now. I pathetically tried to make my own and it was a disaster.

    • ecologycool December 29, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      Oh no! I would definitely be upset since I practically live on Oasis! Have you been able to locate Oasis? I typically get mine at the local health food store. Where are you located? I will see what I can find out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

